Highway Department...

There are more than 60 miles of roads that the Highway Department maintains. This includes resurfacing, snow removal, street sweeping, clearing catch basins, maintaining Village signs and Village parks. Also, the Highway Department issues permits for road openings, curb and/or sidewalk replacement, and removal or replacement of trees located between the sidewalk and curb. Permits are required for the discharge of swimming pools into catch basins. The Village has assumed responsibility for street lighting as a method of reducing costs. If a single street light goes out, Resident Services should be notified (798-0244). If a series of lights (or lights in the home) go out, then LIPA should be notified (931-5800) as the problem most likely will be in LIPA's power lines or transformers, not in the Village lights. Fallen or damaged street and traffic control signs also should be reported to Resident Services as should pot holes. (The Village Hall phone, 798-0244, can be called at any time since a message can be left on the answering machine during non-working hours.)

Town of Oyster Bay...

The Town of Oyster Bay is governed by a Town Council of six representatives elected for four-year terms, and a supervisor elected for a two year term. The Town Board meets on Tuesdays at 7:00 p.m. Call 624-6498 for exact dates. The supervisor also is a member of the Nassau County Board of Supervisors which, along with the county executive, governs the County.

The Town Hall is located on Audrey Avenue in the hamlet of Oyster Bay on the north shore; telephone 624-6498. For the convenience of south shore residents, Town Hall South is located in Massapequa in the former James E. Picken School on Hicksville Road south of Jerusalem Avenue. (Southern State Parkway Exit 29 South.) Telephone 795-1000. This facility houses the

Department of Community Services (all divisions), Department of Parks, the Division of Employment and Training, a Town Clerk Annex, and a part time Veterans Counselor (call 797-6921 for times when Counselor is available).

The Town provides a variety of parks and beaches, including John J. Burns Park on Merrick Road in Massapequa, Florence Avenue Beach in Massapequa and Tobay Beach adjacent to Jones Beach with surfing and swimming in the Atlantic, and swimming in Great South Bay. The Town's Marjorie Post Community Park at Merrick and Unqua Roads has a variety of activities, including swimming pools, ice skating rink, tennis courts, community room and picnic area. Massapequa residents who live within the special park district pay a park district tax and a lesser fee for community pool membership than Village residents, who do not live within this special park district.

The Village administers certain services to its residents that are provided by the Town to non-Village residents in unincorporated areas, such as snow removal, street repair, lighting, parking, recreation, animal control, zoning, licenses and permits, etc. As a result, Massapequa Park residents pay a lower town tax than do other Town residents.

Other Town services also provided to Village residents include refuse, trash and leaf pick-up, and such recreational facilities and programs as boat launching ramps, a marina, cultural and performing arts, programs on drug and alcohol abuse and activities for youth and senior citizens.

Nassau County...

Nassau County is governed by a County Executive and a 19-member Nassau County Legislature. The County Executive serves a four-year term and the legislators serve two-year terms. The County Executive and Legislature normally meet twice a month on Mondays. For more information about time and place, call 571-3131.

Nassau County is governed by a county executive and Board of Supervisors comprised of the supervisors from each of the three towns and mayors of two cities that make up the county. The executive serves a four-year term, the supervisors two years. The County Board of Supervisors generally meets twice a month on Mondays at 11 a.m. For information call 571-4253.

Some of the services provided with the county tax Village residents pay include police, courts, sanitary sewers, traffic control, senior citizen programs, museums, an adoption agency, child abuse counseling, medicaid, food stamps, day care and a consumer fraud bureau. The county also runs a veterans agency, employs a fire marshal and provides training for local fire departments. It operates 5,582 acres of parks, museums and preserves, including Eisenhower Park in East Meadow and the Old Bethpage restoration project.

Schools and Libraries ...

Village students attend the Massapequa School System (District 23) and, in the northernmost area, the Farmingdale System (District 22). Each has elected officials, budgets and taxes and are completely autonomous. There are also separate library districts for both Massapequa and Farmingdale which have the same borders as the school districts. There are also a number of private and parochial schools serving the area. Consult the telephone directory for information.